Nestled in the majestic Rila Mountains, the Rila Lakes National Park is a pristine wilderness area that showcases the breathtaking beauty of Bulgaria’s natural landscapes. This park is renowned for its crystal-clear glacial lakes, rugged peaks, and lush alpine meadows, offering visitors a chance to immerse themselves in the serenity and splendor of the great outdoors.

Rila Lakes National Park

Natural Marvels

At the heart of the Rila Lakes National Park are the Seven Rila Lakes, a chain of glacial lakes, each with its own unique characteristics and charm. These lakes, situated at different altitudes, are surrounded by towering peaks, making for a picturesque setting that enthralls both hikers and nature enthusiasts.

Hiking Paradise

The park offers a network of well-marked hiking trails that cater to various levels of fitness and experience. Whether you’re seeking a leisurely stroll through meadows adorned with wildflowers or a challenging ascent to the highest peaks, the Rila Lakes National Park provides a wide range of options for exploration.

The Seven Rila Lakes

Each of the Seven Rila Lakes is named after its most distinctive feature:

  1. The Tear (Salzata): The highest and deepest lake, Salzata, is named for its clear blue waters, reminiscent of a teardrop. It is situated at an altitude of 2,535 meters.
  2. The Eye (Okoto): Okoto is renowned for its almost perfectly oval shape and its mesmerizing deep-blue color, which resembles an eye. It is the deepest glacial lake in Bulgaria.
  3. The Kidney (Babreka): Babreka is named for its kidney-like shape and sits at an altitude of 2,282 meters. Its waters are turquoise, reflecting the surrounding peaks.
  4. The Twins (Bliznaka): Bliznaka consists of two adjacent, almost identical lakes, giving it the name “The Twins.” It is situated at an elevation of 2,243 meters.
  5. The Trefoil (Trilistnika): Trilistnika is named for its unique trefoil shape, characterized by three smaller circular sections connected by narrow channels.
  6. The Fish Lake (Ribnoto): Ribnoto, also known as the “Fish Lake,” is the shallowest of the Seven Lakes and is famous for its abundance of fish.
  7. The Lower Lake (Dolnoto Ezero): Dolnoto Ezero is the lowest lake in the chain and serves as the reservoir for the waters of the other lakes.

Flora and Fauna

The Rila Lakes National Park is home to a diverse range of plant and animal species. Alpine meadows burst with vibrant wildflowers, while golden eagles soar in the skies above. Lucky visitors might even spot elusive mountain goats or chamois.

Visiting Information

Bulgaria Tours

No posts found!

Tourist Attractions In Bulgaria

Book Your Flights : Here 30% OFF on Booking

Book Your Hotels : Here 20% OFF on Booking

Frequently Asked Questions